
VACATION RENTALS   

Vacation  Rentals  in  the  City  of  Prescott  are  
required  to  register  with  the  City  of  Prescott  
prior to offering the property for rent for a period  of 
29 consecutive days or less.    

 

 

If the  vacation  rental  is  in  residential  zoning,  
you  do  not  occupy  the  residence  during  the  
time  period  when  the  property  is  rented,  and  
the  facility  is  not  a  hotel,  motel,  or  bed  and  
breakfast  the  following  apply:   

1.  Transaction Privilege Tax License issued  
by the Arizona Department of Revenue  

2.  Vacation Rental Registration with the City of  

Prescott  

3.  Operational Requirements and Standard  

Conditions in City Code 4-9  

If you occupy and reside at the residence during   
the time  period  when  the  rooms  are  rented,  
o r  the property is in commercial zoning, or the 

facility operates  as  a  hotel, motel,  or bed and  
breakfast  the  following  licenses  apply:   

1.  Transaction Privilege Tax License issued  

by the Arizona Department of Revenue  

 

 

OPERATIONAL REQUIREMENTS AND   
STANDARD CONDITIONS FOR   
VACATION RENTALS   

The owner or agent for vacation rentals will be 
responsible  for  ensuring  compliance  with  the  
operational  requirements   and  standard  
conditions set forth in Prescott City Code 4-9.  
The primary  purpose  of  this  regulation  is  to  
mitigate  short-term  rental  type  impacts  on  
residential neighborhoods.   

 

The following are some important highlights 
of  the  requirements  and  standards  for  
vacation  rentals  (review the City Code for  
the detailed list):   
 Maximum overn igh t   occupancy  of  the 

vacation  rental  unit  is  specified  as  two 

persons plus an additional two persons 

per  bedroom (thirteen years of age and 

older).  
 A   local cont ac t   person   with  a  24 

hour phone  number  is  required  who 

can respond in-person to the site of 
the vacation rental within 45 minutes 

to initial or successive complaints.  
 Prior to   occupancy,  the  local  contact 

person  shall  provide   the  responsible 

person  of  a  vacation  rental  with  the 

following  information  (this  information 

must  also  be posted  in  a  conspicuous 

place within the unit):  
o Good Ne ighbor  B rochure   

(available on the City’s website or pick 
up in City Hall)  

o Name of the local contact person and  

24-hour  phone number.  

o A copy of   the  combined  business  
license/vacation rental certificate.  

o Maximum overn igh t   occupancy  and  
notification that  failure  to  conform  is  
a violation of City Code 4-9.  

o Trash  pickup  day  and  applicable 

rules  pertaining to  leaving or storing 

trash  or  refuse on the exterior of the 

property  
o Notice   that  noise   levels  shall  not 

exceed  those described in City Code 
5-4  

o City Code Chapter 4-9.  

o Notice that the occupant may be cited  
or  fined  for  creating  a  disturbance 
or  for violating other provisions of the 
chapter  

 

 Prior  to  occupancy,  the  owner 
or owner’s agent shall enter into 

a  written  rental  agreement   as 

specified in City Code 4-9- 6(G).  

 The owner is required to notify all 
property owners directly adjacent 
to the rental that the  property is 

used  as  a  vacation  rental 
including the name and 24 hour 
telephone  number  of  the  local 
contact  person. A template  letter is    
available    on    the    City’s 

website.  

INFORMATION REQUIRED  
FOR VACATION RENTAL   
REGISTRATION   

Among other information, the  
following will be requested at  
application:   

 The  name,  address,  and 

twenty-four  (24) hour telephone 

number  of  the  local  contact 
person.  

 Evidence  that  the  applicant 
has  provided   the   name   and 

twenty-four (24) hour telephone 

number  of  the   local  contact 
person  to  all  property  owners 

directly adjacent to the property. 
An example of  evidence  could 

be a copy of the letter and the 

mailing list.  

 The  number   of  bedrooms  in  

the vacation rental unit.  

 A valid transaction privilege tax  
license  number  issued  by  the 

Arizona Department of Revenue 

for the vacation rental unit.  



WHAT ARE THE FEES TO  
REGISTER MY VACATION  
RENTAL?   

The total fee for a vacation rental registration  
initial application is $95, consisting of a $30  
annual vacation rental registration fee, and a  
one-time  $65  fee  for  the  health/safety  
inspection.  In  subsequent  years  the  fee  for  
renewal will be $30.    

 

HOW DO I REGISTER MY   
VACATION RENTAL?   

Visit  www.prescott-az.gov  to  apply  for  a  
vacation rental registration online. Registration  
fees  are  due  at  time  of  application.  Before  
issuing a vacation rental registration certificate,  
the rental will require a health/safety inspection  
by the building department.   

 

 

TRANSACTION PRIVILEGE TAX   

All   licensing   and   collection  of   transaction  
privilege  is  administered  by  the  Arizona  
Department of Revenue. Their online portal for  
licensing,  reporting,  and  payment  of  sales  
taxes is www.aztaxes.gov.   

As  a  vacation  rental  operating  in  the  City  
limits, you will be required to collect and remit  
transaction   privilege   (sales)   tax   on   gross  
income derived from the business activity.   

The City transaction privilege tax rate is 2%  of 
the gross income. For all rental activity for  a 
period of 29 consecutive days or less, there  is  
an  additional  tax  of  3%  called  transient  
occupancy or “bed tax”.    

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Business   
Code  Tax Rate   

Lodging-Hotels - City  044      2%  

Transient Lodging - City  144     3%  

Transient Lodging - State  025   6.325%  

Total   11.325%   

If the rental activity is for a period of 30  
days  or  more,  the  taxable  transaction  
would be classified as residential rental.  
In  that  case,  the  total  tax  rate  is  only  
2%.  There  is  no  state   tax  on  
residential rental. The business code for  
reporting   residential  rental  is  045.   

 

OTHER POSSIBLE LICENSES OR  
PERMITS REQUIRED   

 Police Department: Registration of  

security/fire alarm  

 Community Development: sign  

permits/building permits  

 

 

 
To view a complete copy of the City code,  
please go to: http://www.prescott-az.gov   

 

 

City Manager Department   

Code Compliance Division   

201 S. Cortez Street    

Prescott, AZ 86303   

Phone: (928) 777-1320  

Fax:  (928) 777-1255   

Email: code.compliance@prescott-az.gov   
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This  publication  is  for  general  
information   regarding  business   
license  requirements   and  
Transaction Privilege (Sales Tax).  
For complete details, refer to the  
City  of Prescott  Privilege &  Use  
Tax Code and related regulations.  In 
the case of an inconsistency or  
omission  in  this  publication,  the  
language  of  the  Model  City  Tax  
Code will prevail.  

 

All  transient occupancy transactions  are   
also  subject  to  a  state  tax  of  6.325%.   
The business codes for reporting the tax   
are summarized below:   

Transient (<30 days)   
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